Journal Assignments

Choose one article from each of the following subheadings within the book The Writer’s Workplace with Readings as listed below, and submit, on the dates assigned, a one-page, typed, double-spaced analysis of whichever article you have chosen. When we finish with the articles in our text, I’ll photocopy articles from a second text and distribute them.

The format in which you will write these journals is:

I. Introduce the author and the title
II. Briefly summarize one aspect of the article
III. Analyze that aspect in regards to how it relates to the point the author is trying to make--i.e. your personal opinion of its relevance to the article and of your ability to understand it.
IV. Explain the effect the issue addressed in the article has on society.

             1) Monday, 23 August—"What is the most interesting thing I have ever done and why?"

2) Friday, 27 August—"Sea Island Daughter" (426), "There Goes the Neighborhood" (428), "America Has No Secrets Anymore" (430)

3) Friday, 3 September—"A Real Life Story" (432), "Urban Legends" (434), "The Paterson Public Library" (436)

             4) Friday, 10 September-- "Section One"—Flowers for Algernon, pp. 1-53.

5) Friday, 17 September—"Summer Reading" (439), "Choosing Ballet" (441), "How to Try to Wash a Dog" (443)

6) Friday, 24 September—"Neat People vs. Sloppy People" (445), "Students in Shock" (447)

7) Friday, 1 October—"It’s Hard Enough Being Me" (450), "Woes of a Part-Time Parent"         (452), "The Truth about Lying" (454)

             8) Friday, 8 October—"Section Two" Flowers for Algernon, pp. 54-115.

9) Friday, 15 October— "Ethmix!" or "A Word’s Meaning" (TBG)

10) Friday, 22 October—"AIDS: An Epidemic of Fear," "Sleepless in El Paso," or "Talking to People" (TBG)

11) Friday, 29 October—"A Profile of Rosa Parks," "Goodbye, Mom’s Apple Pie," or "Requiem for a Champ" (TBG)

             12) Friday, 5 November—"Section Three" Flowers for Algernon, pp. 116-154.

13) Friday, 12 November—"It’s Time We Helped Patients Die," "Affirmative Action in the Workplace," "Where Have All the Fathers Gone," "The Internet? Bah!" or "The Issue isn’t Sex, It’s Violence" (TBG)

              14) Friday, 19 November—"Section Four" Flowers for Algernon, pp. 154-216.

              15) Friday, 10 December— "What grade I should receive in this class and why. What was the most                      beneficial aspect about this course? The least?"

Return to 020 Developmental Writing I Syllabus Page